Speeding fines will build better roads for Victoria

The Victorian Government has committed $2 billion in roads funding for Melbourne’s outer suburbs.

The Minister for Roads, Luke Donnellan, has announced new legislation to establish the Better Roads Victoria Fund, which will mean residents of Melbourne’s Interface Councils will receive better and safer roads more quickly.

Interface Councils is a group of ten municipalities that form a ring around metropolitan Melbourne and advocate for better services and infrastructure for their 1.6 million residents.

Interface Councils spokesperson, Mayor of Wyndham City Council, Councillor Peter Maynard, said, “This is a big step forward. Improving roads in Melbourne’s outer suburbs is one of our top priorities.

“Roads in the Interface Councils region have not kept up with the rapid population growth we’re experiencing. This is great news because our residents drive extremely long distances to and from work each day, with more than 80 percent of people dependent on cars.”

According to the proposal, all revenue from on-the-spot speeding fines and traffic cameras will be directed to improve outer-suburban roads. Both outer-suburban and country roads will each receive a minimum of 33 percent of the fund.

Over the past four years, Interface Councils has welcomed nearly 200,000 residents, which has resulted in the region accounting for nearly half of Melbourne’s growth. As a result, the quickly expanding communities who call it home are straining already stretched services and public infrastructure they rely on daily.

“Really what this is about is making sure residents have the same access to road infrastructure that the rest of Melbourne has. Congestion is one of our biggest problems and it has a significant impact on the daily lives of residents,” said Cr Maynard.

Interface Councils comprises Cardinia Shire Council, City of Casey, Hume City Council, Melton City Council, Mitchell Shire Council, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council, Nillumbik Shire Council, City of Whittlesea, Wyndham City Council and Yarra Ranges Shire Council.