South Australia's LGA appoints new president

City of Adelaide Councillor, Sue Clearihan, was appointed as the new Local Government Association of South Australia (LGASA) President at a special meeting of the Board yesterday.

Cr Clearihan was appointed following the resignation of City of Onkaparinga Mayor, Lorraine Rosenberg, from the office of LGASA President on 7 June, and will remain in the position until October 2018 when a new Board and President will be elected.

Cr Clearihan said her focus for the next four months would be working with the LGA Board, member councils and State Government on local government reform.

“The LGA has worked with councils to develop a broad-range of reforms for the sector, that will improve efficiency and transparency within local government.

“Some of these reforms include implementing benchmarking for councils, strengthening the code of conduct, standardising external council audits, and local government elections reform.

“Many of these changes require a partnership approach, and I’m keen to work with the new Government and Parliament on these opportunities, and build partnerships that will benefit our sector and communities.

“We’re just five months out from the 2018 council elections, and we also want to make sure we get a bigger and more diverse field of candidates this year, and improve voter turnout.”

Town of Gawler Mayor, Karen Redman, was appointed by the Board to fill the vacancy in the position of Vice President that was created by the appointment of Cr Clearihan to the role of President.

Cr Clearihan said restoring confidence in the local government sector and the LGASA itself was a priority.