Bursary winner announced

Article image - Bursary winner announced Pam Robinson OAM, Felicity Frederico, Helen Coleman, Catherine (Cassie) Austin, Helen Harris OAM, Cr Coral Ross, Barbara Abley AM., CGSJ

The Australian Local Government Women’s Association Victoria branch Bursary 2018 has been awarded to Catherine Austin of Corangamite Shire Council.

The Maternal and Child Health and Immunisation Services Coordinator will use the $1,750 award to assist in her Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) studies.

Two Special Commendation Awards were also given, recognising Sharon Houlihan of Wellington Shire Council and April Ure of Pyrenees Shire Council. Sharon is Executive Manager of Major Projects and studying a Master of Business Administration. And April is a Property Revenue Officer and studying a Bachelor of Business.

Each received a cheque for $250 towards their education costs.
The winners were announced at the annual ALGWA Bursary afternoon tea, held at the Melbourne Town Hall. Guest speaker, lawyer and company director Kate Spargo presented the cheques and certificates with President Helen Coleman.

The Bursary award was established in 1989 to encourage and assist women in local government to further their education.