Parks and Leisure awards

Article image - Parks and Leisure awards Frank Stewart Distinguished Service Award Winner Penny Davidson. Award presented by the 2016 winner Andrew Smith.

Parks and Leisure Australia (PLA) recognized the sector’s brightest minds and most creative, sustainable and innovative initiatives from across Australia at the National Awards of Excellence on the 24th October at the RACV Royal Pines Resort, Gold Coast.  More than 300 professionals came together from across the country and overseas to celebrate winners across 12 categories.

The evening was hosted by former Test cricketer, Kerry O’Keeffe and sponsored by GreenLife Group and Toro Australia. PLA National President Martin Lambert said “To be presented with a PLA National Award of Excellence is the highest honor in the parks and leisure industry and shows the talent of our great industry”.  

“Competition was fierce across all award categories with this year seeing the highest number of entries in the history of the organisation”. Mr Lambert said.

2017 National Awards of Excellence Winners

Frank Stewart Distinguished Service Award
Penny Davidson    
Penny has been an active member of PLA since 1999 and has lectured at Charles Sturt University, School of Environmental Sciences across leisure and tourism, outdoor recreation and communication. Penny has been heavily involved in research and is now an independent researcher and consultant.

David Aldous Student of the Year Award                    
Jacksone Holland, City of Greater Geelong, VIC/TAS
Sponsored by Will Play

Emerging Leader of the Year Award                     
Jo Massoud, Nillumbik Shire Council, VIC/TAS      
Sponsored by Otium Planning Group                 

Best Use of Technology Award             
Sport and Recreation Services, QLD   
Sponsored by Allow Access

Community Program of the Year Award                
Botanic Gardens & Centennial Parklands, NSW/ACT
Sponsored by Telstra

Event of the Year Award
City of Joondalup, WA
Sponsored by City of Gold Coast

Leisure Facility of the Year Award
City of Gosnells, WA
Sponsored by Tennis Australia

Leisure and/or Open Space Planning Award (joint winners)   
Ku-ring-gai Council, NSW/ACT 
Brimbank City Council, VIC/TAS
Sponsored by UMS         

Park of the Year
Kwinana Adventure Park, WA   
Sponsored by GreenLife Group 

Playspace (<$0.5m)   
Fiona Robbe Landscape Architects, NSW/ACT

Playspace (>$0.5m+)
City of Kwinana and Josh Byrne and Associates, WA
Sponsored by Proludic

Research Project
Federation University and Victoria University, QLD           
Sponsored by ETP Turf