Ku-ring-gai Council recognised for disaster education

Ku-ring-gai Council’s Climate Wise Communities program has been recognised by the NSW Government through the Resilient Australia Awards.

Mayor Jennifer Anderson and Council staff accepted the award on behalf of the Council from NSW Minister for Emergency Services the Hon. David Elliott and the Deputy Premier Troy Grant at a special ceremony held at Parliament House.

The Resilient Australia Awards are coordinated by Minister Elliott and aim to recognise and promote initiatives that strengthen community disaster resilience.

The awards cover all aspects of community safety and resilience with an emergency management focus.

Ku-ring-gai Council won the NSW Resilient Australia Government award for its Climate Wise Communities program.

The program, which has been running for the past five years, helps local residents self-assess their vulnerability to severe weather events and through workshops, prepare plans to reduce risk.

The award was presented for the work Ku-ring-gai Council has done to extend this program to other council areas.

The Council has delivered the Climate Wise Communities program to seven other council areas, including Bankstown, Gosford, Hornsby, Pittwater, Willoughby, Wingecarribee and Wollondilly.

Mayor Anderson said the Council had a long established record of environmental outreach programs funded through Ku-ring-gai's environmental levy.

"The Climate Wise Communities program means our residents are much better informed about how to protect their families and properties in an emergency such as bushfire or flooding."