Accolades for NSW councils

Article image - Accolades for NSW councils

Warringah and Pittwater Councils have been recognised as leaders in local government at the LGNSW conference in Sydney.

Warringah Council was the metropolitan winner of the AR Bluett Memorial Award, the most prestigious award for a NSW council, while Pittwater Council was awarded a special commendation.

SHOROC President and Mayor of Mosman, Cr Peter Abelson, applauded the two SHOROC partner councils.

“In its 70th year, this is the oldest and most prestigious award for local government which acknowledges the most progressive and innovative councils in the state.

“The Bluett Award is one of the highest accolades a council can receive and I congratulate Warringah and Pittwater on their outstanding achievement in local government. We look forward to working constructively together for best interest of region,” Mayor Abelson said.

“This is a true testament to the hard work we are doing to be the most effective, efficient and transparent organisation we can be,” said Warringah Mayor, Michael Regan.

“It’s the second year Warringah has been named as a finalist and to be recognised two years running is a special honour and I couldn’t be more proud of our dedicated council staff, elected councillors and our great community.”

Pittwater Council’s General Manager Mark Ferguson said it was an honour to receive the special commendation.

“This award is a testament to the enormous achievements of our staff and councillors over the past year. We have clearly demonstrated our capacity to deliver large and innovative infrastructure projects, be strong protectors of our natural environment and be closely connected to our community.”

“We are a strong council with a progressive and innovative approach to services and projects we deliver for Pittwater,” said Mr Ferguson.

The AR Bluett Memorial Award is awarded annually in the memory of Albert Robert Bluett, who was an outstanding figure in local government.