Local Government National Awards*

The 2015 National Awards for Local Government (the Awards) are well underway and submissions are being accepted until 27 February 2015.

The Awards have been a highlight of the Commonwealth and local government calendars for almost 30 years.  The Awards are an opportunity to celebrate the pivotal role that local government plays in bringing communities together and bringing local solutions to local problems.

Local government is the level of government closest to most Australians and as such provides much of the physical infrastructure and many of the services that are essential to the daily life of their citizens and their homes, businesses and workplaces.  Australian local governments are committed to a culture of excellence in delivering services and infrastructure to the communities they represent, and the Awards are an opportunity to showcase and share some of the outstanding examples of local government innovation at work.

The following eight categories are being offered in the 2015 Awards and these are:

  • Arts Animates – excellence in community engagement and participation
  • Boosting Productivity through Infrastructure
  • Contributing to Regional Growth
  • Disability Access and Inclusion
  • Multicultural Australia – Strength in Diversity
  • Promoting Indigenous Recognition
  • Excellence in Road safety and
  • Youth Employment.

The 2015 category winners will be announced in mid-April.  Category winners, including the winner of the National Award for Excellence in Local Government will be announced at presentation ceremonies to be held at Parliament House, Canberra on Tuesday 16 June 2015. Further information on the Awards and the nomination process is at www.infrastructure.gov.au/nalg.

*Copy supplied by National Awards