SHOROC Announces Priorities for 2015 NSW Election

Article image - SHOROC Announces Priorities for 2015 NSW Election (From Left) The Hon. Rob Stokes MP, Cr Michael Regan, Jonathan O’Dea MP, Cr Jacqueline Townsend, The Hon. Mike Baird MP, Cr Peter Abelson, Cr Jean Hay, The Hon. Brad Hazzard MP

Mayors from Manly, Mosman, Pittwater & Warringah have met with the New South Wales Premier, Ministers and MPs to discuss major issues and priorities at the SHOROC (Shore Regional Organisation of Councils) Leaders’ Forum.

SHOROC presented its new 2015 NSW Election Priorities Policy to NSW Premier The Hon. Mike Baird MP together with The Hon. Brad Hazzard MP, The Hon. Rob Stokes MP and Mr Jonathan O’Dea MP, detailing major priorities for NSW Government investment in infrastructure and services for the region for 2015-19.

“This partnership between NSW MPs and Mayors has delivered great results for our region and it was very valuable today to keep the major projects moving forward as we also discussed big priorities for the years ahead,” said SHOROC President and Mayor of Mosman Councillor Peter Abelson.

Transport was a key topic of discussion and a priority in the SHOROC Election Priorities paper, including the $633 million Northern Beaches Transport Plan.

Other topics of discussion included Health and hospitals, vegetation clearing laws, the ‘Fit for the Future’ local government reforms and employment and economic development.

“Our councils put together the 2015 NSW Election Priorities Policy to clearly identify what we consider needs to be delivered for our region and I encourage everyone to get behind these priorities,” said Cr Abelson.

“The Premier and all of our local MPs were very positive and receptive to our proposals and we look forward to working with the NSW Government to ensure an even stronger region for the future.

“Positively the Premier also warmly congratulated the Mayors, MPs, councils and SHOROC, saying all should be congratulated for the collective leadership for the region and the outstanding outcomes achieved together over the past four years.”