Mid Murray wins youth engagement award

Mid Murray Council in South Australia has gained national recognition for its innovative ‘Fun 4 YOUth’ program, winning the youth engagement and participation category in the prestigious 2012 National Awards for Local Government.

Federal Minister for Local Government Simon Crean announced the category winners of the 2012 National Awards for Local Government, saying that “The quality of the 2012 entries has been extremely high and has showcased the vast array of creative and innovative projects our local councils are rolling out all around Australia.”

Mid Murray Council was the only South Australian council to win an award this year, while another two other councils were commended.
The Mid Murray Council ‘Fun 4 YOUth’ project is carried out from a custom-fitted van, providing a mobile entertainment unit that engages and interacts with young people throughout the local government area.

Mid Murray Council Mayor Dave Burgess said, “This award is fantastic recognition not only of Council’s efforts to engage and support youth throughout the district, but is a testament to all the people and communities who helped make it happen and supported the initiative.” 

CEO of Mid Murray Council Russell Peate said, “Fun 4 YOUth is an exciting and innovative project that demonstrates that Council has been listening to the needs of young people in the community and has worked with them to help create a solution to their needs.”

The ‘Fun 4 YOUth’ van has an array of features, including a Wii console for interactive fun and games, a sound system and lighting for a mobile disco, a PA, a large flat screen TV for watching DVDs and TV, computer and Internet access through laptops, and a roof-mounted DVD player and screen. The van also tows a trailer full of sport and recreation equipment.

‘Fun 4 YOUth’ visits three towns per week in the Mid Murray Council area on a regular rotational basis covering 11 communities. The program also attends a variety of school and community events throughout the district.