Local Government leaders honoured

Local Government leaders honoured

The 2012 Australia Day honours list recognised a number of Local Government councilors and officers for their achievements and dedication to their communities.

Four people received a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for service to Local Government, including Alice Springs Mayor Fran Kilgariff (also a member of the ALGA Board).

Mayor Kilgariff was recognised for service to local government in the Northern Territory, to the economic and social advancement of the community of Alice Springs, and to indigenous, tourism and community health organisations.

Mr Robert Foo Hee Chong was recognised for service to Local Government, to the Victorian Chinese community, and to the City of Whitehorse.

The Hon Theo Russell Cooper was recognised for service to the Queensland Parliament, to Local Government, and to the communities of Roma and Crows Nest.

Mr Graham John Jahn was recognised for service to Local Government, professional associations, the arts and architecture, particularly through the promotion of excellence in urban design and planning.

Public Service Medals were bestowed on City of Melville Chief Executive Officer Dr Shayne Silcox, Council of Australian Governments (COAG) representative Mr Ronald Perry and Mr Philip Berting for outstanding public service to Local Government in Queensland.

Dr Silcox was rewarded for his efforts in building strong, cohesive and well-serviced communities in Western Australia. Mr Perry was praised for outstanding public service in the development and maintenance of COAG as an effective institution of Australian Governments.

A Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to Local Government and their community was awarded to: Mrs Lilliane Brady, Mr Ronald Brownless, Mrs Kerry Child, Mr Leigh Hall, Ms Mary Linn, Mr William Quinlan and Mr Edward Murrell (deceased).