Bluett Awards announced

The A. R. Bluett Memorial Awards for 2007 were announced at the Local Government Association of New South Wales annual conference in October. The awards are presented each year to the Council that has made the greatest relative progress. It is considered to be the highest accolade a New South Wales Council can aspire to.

Liverpool Plains Shire Council took out the Shires Association Award. Formed in 2004, following the amalgamation of the former Quirindi Shire Council and portions of Murrurundi and Parry Shire Councils, Liverpool Plains has a population of 7,500 people. It has a very progressive approach to achieving growth through sustainable social and economic development.

Chairman of the A.R. Bluett Memorial Trust, John Flannery, announced the awards. He said Liverpool Plains has addressed industrial development, village services, improvements to medical services and water management in a very progressive manner.

Goulburn Mulwaree Council, with a population of 27,000 people, took out the Local Government Award. Also formed in 2004, Goulburn Mulwaree is an urban/rural authority and includes the former Goulburn City Council and Mulwaree Shire Council.

John Flannery said Council’s success in the Bluett Award was a result of sound and progressive management and community leadership at a time when the area was experiencing major water supply problems.

Council was also noted for its innovative approaches to rural community development.

Entries from Temora Shire Council, Clarence Valley Council and Penrith City Council were also highly commended.