DrumMUSTER National Excellence Awards

The Agsafe Container Management program drumMUSTER recently announced that New South Wales’ Hume Shire Council’s By-laws Officer, Ian Singleton, is the winner of its National Inspector of the Year Award. In addition, Hume Shire Council has taken out the National Collection Agency Excellence Award.

Hume Shire Council’s General Manager, Peter Veneris, said drumMUSTER presents National Excellence Awards on an annual basis in five different categories.

“The fact that awards in two of the five categories are being presented to Council and its By-laws Officer is indicative of Council’s commitment to the scheme.”

The drumMUSTER program is a national collection and recycling scheme for empty, cleaned, non returnable crop protection and animal health chemical containers. Both plastic and steel containers are accepted.

Peter Veneris said that Hume Shire landholders should also be congratulated for participating in the scheme.

“The environment is the overall winner,” he said.

The National Awards were presented at the CSIRO Discovery Centre in Canberra in September.