for local government
Local Government – Leading the way" lang="en" /> LG Focus - 2002 National awards <span class="myheavy">for local government<br>Local Government – Leading the way</span>

2002 National awards for local government
Local Government – Leading the way

Local Government - Leading the way

Business & Regional Development
Category Winner City of Playford (SA) Best Practice Economic Development
Model for an Industrial Council
Rural Winner Tumut Shire Council (NSW) Development of a Paper Mill in Tumut
Commendations Hastings Council (NSW) Hastings Food & Agriculture Opportunities Program

Newcastle City Council (NSW) Newcastle Floorspace and & Employment Survey

Community Services
Category Winner Melbourne City Council (VIC) Relocated Project
Rural Winner Shire of Gingin (WA) Perth North Region Emergency Service Directory & Avon
Emergency Services Directory
Commendations Leichhardt Council (NSW) Graffiti Strategy – Graffiti Trailer and Graffiti Kits

Engineering, Infrastructure, Planning & Urban Design
Category Winner Hervey Bay City Council (QLD) Access Hervey Bay
Commendations City of Mandurah (WA) Adare Sump – Conversion to Useable Public Open Space

Cox Peninsula Community Government Council (NT) Electronic Water Card Delivery System

George Town Council (TAS) Pump Lift

Environment – Natural Resource Management: Partnerships for Biodiversity Conservation
Category Winner Rockhampton City Council (QLD) Wombat Research Facility
Rural Winner Burdekin Shire Council (QLD) Building Community Partnerships
Commendations Crow’s Nest Shire Council (QLD) Project “Green Nest”

North West Wheatbelt Regional Organisation of Councils (WA) A United Approach to Natural Resource Management

Environment – Sustaining Local Communities: Local Agenda 21
Category Winner City of Swan (WA) Integrated Planning Framework
Rural Winner Derwent Valley Council (TAS) Lachlan River Community
Commendations Hornsby Shire Council (NSW) Creating a Living Environment

Melbourne City Council (VIC) Triple Bottom Line Toolkit for Local Government

Financial Management
Joint Category Winners City of Gosnells (WA) Resource Allocation Model
Joint Category Winners City of Onkaparinga (SA) Financial Directions
Commendations Cairns City Council (QLD) Improved Management of Outstanding Rates & Utility Charge Debtors

Glamorgan Spring Bay Council (TAS) Finance Project GDAP

Kentish Council (TAS) Small Council Accounting Software Adaptation

Wollondilly Shire Council (NSW) State of Wollondilly

Health Services & Aged Care
Category Winner City of Melville (WA) Who said it’s easy being a guy? A self help resource for young men.
Rural Winner Kingaroy Shire Council (QLD) Kingaroy and South Burnett Medical Workforce Strategy
Commendations Banyule City Council (VIC) Over 40’s Active Leisure Project

Kiama Municipal Council (NSW) Kiama Council Brokerage Nursing Project

Information Technology
Category Winner Whittlesea City Council (VIC) Foodsmart – Food Safety Plans Online
Rural Winner Crow’s Nest Shire Council (QLD) Kingaroy and South Burnett Medical Workforce Strategy
Commendations Logan City Council (QLD) Safety Camera Project Reporting

Caloundra City Council (QLD) MAPROOM - Caloundra City Council’s Internet Mapping Service

Organisational Practices
Category Winner Baulkham Hills Shire Council (NSW) Event Management Guide
Joint Rural Winners Pilbara Regional Council (WA) Equal Opportunity and Diversity Management Plan
Joint Rural Winners Shire of Kellerberrin (WA) The Joint Shire Agreement
Commendations Blue Mountains City Council (NSW) Productivity Focused Professional Development Strategy for Blue Mountains City Council Staff

Dubbo City Council (NSW) Excellence in Fleet Management

Strengthening Indigenous Communities
Category Winner Town of Port Hedland (WA) Courthouse Arts Centre and Gallery
Commendations Alice Springs Town Council (NT) Working Together

Julalikari Council Aboriginal Corporation (NT) Nyinkka Nyunyu Community and Cultural Centre (Nyinkka Nyunyu is warumungu for the home of the spiky – tailed goanna)

City of Gosnells (WA) Indigenous Community Liaison Officers Service

Youth Services
Category Winner City of Onkaparinga (SA) The City of Onkaparinga Youth Development Model
Rural Winner Alexandrina Council (SA) GoolwaSkill
Commendations Brisbane City Council (QLD) ARTFORCE – Traffic Controller Art Project

Melbourne City Council (VIC) Frontyard Youth Service – A city based service for at risk young people

The Federal Departments of Environment and Heritage, Family and Community Services, Health and Ageing, Industry, Tourism and Resources, and Transport and Regional Services, are proud to sponsor the 2002 National Awards for Local Government. The Awards highlight the excellent work being done by Local Government in communities across Australia to improve business practice within councils and service delivery to their communities. We are proud to announce the Category and Commendation Winners for 2002.

The Award sponsors would like you to join with the Category Winners at the National General Assembly of Local Government in Alice Springs on 4 November to celebrate the diverse work of Local Government which is recognised through the National Awards for Local Government.

If you would like more information about the Awards give the National Office of Local Government a call on 1800 065 113.