Local Government innovation

Is your Council demonstrating Leading Practice?

The Federal Government wants to hear from all councils interested in entering the 2001 National Awards for Innovation in Local Government. Councils of all sizes are encouraged to enter the Awards, from large municipalities to remote rural communities.

Through the Awards, the Federal Government recognises those in Local Government prepared to face challenges through innovative practices and ideas. The Awards identify and support Leading Practice and allow councils to showcase the creativity, resourcefulness and leadership going on in their organisations to the community, industry groups, other councils and government.

Since their inception in 1986, the Awards have attracted thousands of entries from councils across Australia. Each year the response from Local Government continues to grow apace with the prestige of the Awards. Award recipients receive extensive national and international coverage, allowing other councils to share and learn from winning initiatives. Seminars are also organised nationally to showcase leading practice.

This year the 2001 Awards will be launched at the Local Government Managers National Congress at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on 14 May 2001 in an address by the Minister for Regional Services, Territories and Local Government, Senator Ian Macdonald.

Application forms will be available from the National Office of Local Government (NAILG) stand at the Congress Exhibition Hall. At the stand, delegates can also obtain extra copies of the 2000 Guide to Leading Practice. The Guide gives full details of the 386 projects entered in last year’s Awards.

The National Congress Programme includes a session of presentations by past Award winners who will share the innovative solutions they have developed which successfully address local problems faced by them and their communities.

This year councils will be able to enter some exciting new categories in the Awards.

  • Engineering and Infrastructure
  • Planning and Urban Design
  • Sustaining Local Communities – Local Agenda 21
  • A Special Award for the Strengthening of Rural and Remote Communities
  • A Special Award for the International Year of Volunteers.

Entries close on 29 June 2001 and the Awards team anticipate another record response from councils. The 2001 Awards will culminate in the announcement of the national and national rural winners at the Australian Local Government Association’s National General Assembly to be held at the National Convention Centre in Canberra in late November.

For further details, visit the NAILG stand in the exhibition hall at the Congress or their website at www.nolg.gov.au.