Councils muster recycling pride

The District Council of Orroroo Carrieton in South Australia has taken out the top prize of the MobileMuster awards this year.

The mobile phone industry’s recycling program calls on councils every year to tackle the growing problem of electronic waste and work with their communities to collect old mobile phones.

The regional South Australian council was declared the National Top Collector per Capita at the ALGA National General Assembly in June.
Spyro Kalos, Recycling Manager, MobileMuster, said this year’s collection was well supported by councils.

“Whilst council collections have been steadily growing in the last couple of years it’s great to see an even higher lift this year with councils helping inform and educate their residents about recycling.

“In the last year councils have increased their collections by a huge 25 per cent and recycled over 4.5 tonnes of mobiles phone and components through the program.”

Over the last decade local government partners have collected 35 tonnes of mobiles phone components for recycling including approximately 420,000 handsets and batteries.

It is estimated a further 23 million unused mobile phones exist across the country.

Top collectors were also awarded across each state and the Northern Territory:

  • New South Wales – Hornsby Shire Council
  • Northern Territory – Alice Springs Town Council
  • Queensland – Brisbane City Council
  • Western Australia – City of Stirling
  • South Australia – City of Onkaparinga
  • Tasmania – Burnie City Council
  • Victoria - Moonee Valley City Council